Once you have Circle set up on your network, Circle's content and time management features will get right to work. To see what that means, take Circle for a test drive to ensure that you have things setup the way you want. Here are a few ideas for checking how Circle works on your network:

  • Pause the whole network.
    On the home screen, you'll see a large pause button at the bottom. Tap that and then try to get online with one of your devices. Only devices that you identified as "Unmanaged Devices" should be able to get online. You can do the same thing with an individual family member or device if you like.
  • Try to visit a filtered site or platform.
    Use the profile settings for one of your family members to filter out a platform like Facebook or Twitter. Then, try to access the site on one of their devices to see what happens. Circle will begin to filter out that content.
  • Keep an eye on Time Limits and Bedtime.
    Unless you set Time Limits and Bedtime very aggressively to check them out, you aren't likely to see the effect of those settings until later in the day. Circle will begin to enforce those settings through the day as limits are reached or Bedtime arrives.

What does it look like when Circle is working properly?

When Circle enforces a Filter, Time Limit, Bedtime, or Pause setting, it will attempt to redirect people to the myCircle page in order to let them know why they can't access that content. But, because of the way that the modern Internet works, you'll see several different messages. Here are a few things to watch for:

  • A kinda-scary security message. 
    When Circle redirects someone who is trying to access a site that uses uses secure encryption (https or "SSL" connections), the user will receive a security alert from their browser. The browser was expecting to hear from the secure site, so when it actually hears back from Circle, it wants you to know.

    This is a great way to know that Circle is working! You may be surprised at how often your family sees this message, but it could be fairly frequent since many commonly-used tools, like Google and Facebook, are now using SSL for traffic to their sites. Here's an example of a security alert from the Google Chrome browser:


  • Non-viewable links or images. 
    In some cases, Circle will partially filter out content from a website and leave gaps. When you enable Ad-Blocking or choose to filter some social media platforms like Twitter or Pinterest, links or images that are part of those sites may not display. You might not even notice that they’re missing!

  • The myCircle page.
    In many cases, Circle will redirect users to the myCircle page to let them know what is going on. That page will let them know why they have been redirected, and it will provide some information about their own Circle settings (like Usage, Bedtime, and Time Limits). Additionally, myCircle provides them with access to some great alternative content from our partner, Disney.


  • User Insights.
    Finally, to know for sure what Circle has filtered, go to the Insights view for any one of your family members. Tap History to view the timelines of sites that they have visited or were filtered. If you would like to allow any of the sites that you see there, tap on it and select "Always allow..."